tough love

It never gets old, the magical emergence of seedlings. Put something that looks like a Grape-nut in the earth, and a few days later a red-rimmed pair of leaves appears. When plants are still small, their daily growth is obvious and astonishing. One is supposed to thin seedlings at a certain point, but I had never been able to bring myself to do it.

Until now. Maybe it’s because I’ve seen too many harvests of beets that offered unimpressive roots. Or watched lush crowds of bean plants that produced only a few pods apiece. Maybe I’m getting a little less sentimental in this, my fourth year of gardening. Or maybe I’m just realizing I’ll probably have more than enough to feed myself all year, with or without all the little plants I disconnected from their nourishing soil.

After yesterday’s experience, I will have a new reason for thinning–these infant plants are delicious! 000_0792

Explore posts in the same categories: garden

Leave a Reply

