the whole of the harvest

000_0854Last year I learned that it is, in fact, possible to have too many garden-fresh tomatoes. Well, almost. For a few weeks, when they appeared at three meals a day, I got tired of the idea of them. But then, I would cut into one…. and somehow only part of it would make its way into the bowl, or the saucepot, or the drying rack. Even when they were covering every windowsill, every countertop, every everything, those shiny globes were still irresistible.

This year I restrained myself and planted only 19 tomato plants (as compared to last year’s 29). And, like growers across the country, I saw them shrivel with blight. I only managed to rescue a handful of early-ripening yellow cherries…

O come, let us adore.

Explore posts in the same categories: tomatoes

Leave a Reply

