cool as a cucumber

I spent nearly two months without a working refrigerator this summer. This was not some intentional extreme-green experiment. It just happened. When the fridge first went out, at the beginning of June, it was impossible to find a moment to deal with it. And then, as time went on, it simply wasn’t a priority.

Living without refrigeration forced a few adjustments, it’s true, but nothing too major. Since I do most of my provisioning from my yard, it meant that I didn’t pick anything until I was ready to make use of it. Fine. I also cut out eggs and dairy, which was easier than I expected (nuts are a great alternate way to add substance). The biggest challenge, particularly in the early part of the season, was that I could no longer make a big batch of [something] and live off it for three days. But cooking every day is not such a bad thing.

Anyway, last week I finally got around to replacing the old klunker, which had come with the house, with a shiny new energy-efficient model.

 There are few vegetables that go with cold as well as cucumbers. I sliced a few and tossed them with a little salt, a little sugar, and some crushed fresh dill. After an hour or so in my new fridge they were a perfect snack.

Also, I made some cheese. I know, I know, historically, the whole point of cheese was to preserve milk in the days before refrigeration, but I confess… I just couldn’t go there. So my house has been cheese-free for awhile. And there is nothing that says summer like a nice fresh ricotta, flavored with lemon and thyme and then drizzled with olive oil, accompanied by a sharp-flavored salad of arugula, olive oil, and tomatoes still holding the warmth of the sun.

And the next day: leftovers! Ricotta with chopped cucumbers, mint, chives, olive oil. Pretty cool.

Explore posts in the same categories: cheese, cucumbers

Leave a Reply

